This page is provided as a guide for overseas visitors.
Please visit the Official Orange County web site for up-to-date requirements.
You do not need to be a resident of Florida to apply for a marriage licence. No minimum residency applies to overseas couples. (i.e. You are not required to be in Florida for a minimum number of days.)
You should be 18 years and older to apply for a marriage licence.
Persons who were previously married and divorced need to bring their decree absolute with them to the courthouse. As they will need to supply the date their last marriage ended.
Application and Fee
As a couple you have to apply for your marriage licence in person at the Orlando
Courthouse . Applications are accepted between 8am - 4pm Mon - Fri, except for Bank Holidays. The current fee for a marriage licence is $93.50 Orange County, $103.50 Osceola County, payable by cash, Visa or MasterCard.
There are two locations where you can obtain your marriage licence
- Orange County Courthouse. 425 North Orange Avenue, Suite 355, (3rd floor) Orlando. Distance is approximately 20 minutes form International Drive / 35 minutes from Lake Buena Vista.
- Osceola County Courthouse. 2 Courthouse Square, Suite 2000. Kissimmee. Distance is approximately 20 minutes from Disney area / 35 minutes from Highway 27 area.
Documentation required by the Courthouse
Couples will require the following necessary documents
Decree Absolute (if divorced)
And any other relevant paperwork such as change documents (widowers certificate, change of name etc)
$93.50 or $103.50 payable by cash or credit card (Visa / MasterCard).
Failure to product correct documentation may result in having to delay the wedding pending the correct documents being presented.
The Marriage Licence
The marriage licence if valid for 60 days from the day of issue. The Marriage licence has to be shown to the Notary or Minister prior to the ceremony, to ensure all legal requirements have been fulfilled. The Notary or Minister will then be responsible for posting the Marriage licence back to the courthouse to have it validated. This will become the official Marriage Certificate. This process should take between 4 - 6 weeks and will be posted directly back to the couple's home
The Marriage Ceremony
Once the Marriage licence has been obtained, couples can get married anywhere within the state of Florida. Witnesses to the marriage are not required.
Should couples wish to have additional certified copies of the Marriage Certificate, $2.00 per additional copy should be given to the Notary or Minister. The Notary or Minister will enclose this in the envelope, which he/she will return to the courthouse for validation.
If you found this information useful, please like, share, tweet, pin or plus this page.